Life Anew

March 29, 2008 at 9:17 pm 4 comments

img_1670.jpg

 Looking Up Tooth Rock, Rattlesnake Canyon, Poway, March 29, 2008

These hills took me by surprise 21 days ago, driving through Poway Road from Higway 67 were vibrant colors of gold and purple. Thankfully, my student showed me how to access these colorful hills and was able to enjoy this wonderful gift from nature. I was overwhelmed with the sight I saw last March 8, and shared that joy here the next day ( https://betchaitluc.wordpress.com/2008/03/09/hiking-tooth-rock-mountain/ ).  Since March 8, I had been hiking in this trail whenever I got a chance, for I knew these wildflowers will not last. Nine days ago, try as I might to capture field of poppies similar to those I posted in my March 9 post, but my beginner’s skill in photography did not let me :(. I had to be on my knees to create an impression of hills fully packed with poppies.

 img_1048.jpg

 Looking Up Tooth Rock, Rattlesnake Canyon, Poway March 20, 2008

But despite the wildflowers in the slopes of Tooth Rock about 90% gone, there are still some poppies that cover its northeastern slopes,

img_1794.jpg 

 Looking Up Tooth Rock by the Creek Side, March 29, 2008

and still carpeting poppies at the bottom of the hill that lines up the trail.  At the opposite side of the slopes of Tooth Rock,

 img_1846.jpg

 Still Blooming, the Slopes Opposites Tooth Rock Across Rattlesnake Creek, March 29, 2008

across Rattlesnake Creek, there are still a lot of poppies that cover the hills contrasting the burnt trees.

img_1777.jpg

Hills Opposite Tooth Rock Across Rattlesnake Creek, March 29, 2008

Cooling down by Rattlesnake Creek, you will be amazed with the wonders of life, and appreciate the sprouting of a new life after a scorching fire.   

 img_1854.jpg

 Black and Charred in the Middle of the Colors of Life, near Rattlesnake Creek, March 29, 2008

As the display of wildflowers waned, I see more bugs. I usually do not purposely wait for bugs to suck the nectar out of flowers (as I am scared), but strange, while I was attempting to take an up-close picture of a lupine, a bee suddenly appeared right in the lupine I was about to photograph.

img_1744.jpg

 Bee and Lupine, Rattlesnake Canyon, March 29, 2008

And as if I did not exist, the bee just proceeded nourishing himself to feed on the flowers.

 img_1745.jpg

 A Bee Feeding on Lupine, Rattlesnake Canyon, March 29, 2008

 But for whatever reason, as soon as the bee fed on that particular lupine, he flew away, jumping from one flower to another, as if he could not make a decision which one tasted better. It was such a sight to behold, despite being scary, another gift handed to me by nature on this beautiful day. Either the bees not getting enough of my path, or me not getting enough of them, while I was on the look-out for nice formation of poppy to photograph,

 img_1686.jpg

Poppy Formation that Caught My Eye,  Rattlesnake Canyon, March 29, 2008

lo and behold, there was another bee feeding on one of the poppies below.

img_1687.jpg 

Bee Feeding on California Poppy, Rattlesnake Canyon, March 29, 2008

What were these bees teaching me? That they will not sting me if I do not get so close to them or compete (avoid touching any flowers)? Or are they teaching me to remain focus while set on a goal? That was how I saw it as the bee just suddenly appeared in front of me, not minding me, and just jumped on to feed on the lupine. Or does it remind me to follow its way of life, that is to slow down, smell the lupines and poppies, to taste the sweetest nectar of life. There are just so many life’s reminders we will stumble upon outdoors, why stay indoors when the day is great and mother nature is out there waiting for us to teach us life’s lessons? Aside from the bees, I also saw and heard more birds in the area,

 img_1661.jpg

Celebrating Spring at Tooth Rock Mountain (Hill), March 29, 2008

(photo is cropped to focus the bird, no zoom lens :(, thus very low resolution)

too bad I do not have a zoom lens to capture their beauty while they frolic on the seeds that fall from the dried flowers. But nevertheless, the singing of the birds and seeing them perched on top of tree branches seemed like a celebration of life anew.

 img_1881.jpg

 Celebrating Spring at Rattlesnake Creek, March 29, 2008

(photo is cropped to focus the bird, no zoom lens :(, thus very low resolution)

Spring is a celebration of life anew, just as these wildflowers suddenly woke up from their dormancy on the grounds. Calling all forms of life to share its glory. So, even if the display of wildflowers waned, life will surely move on, here at Rattlesake Canyon.

 img_1853.jpg

Wonders of Nature, Life Anew After a Scorching Fire, Rattlesnake Canyon, March 29, 2008

Entry filed under: poppy field, poway, rattlesnake canyon, san diego, tooth rock, wildflowers, wildlife.

Experiencing Southern California Desert Spring at Amboy Crater National Natural Landmark Anza Borrego Desert State Park

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kym  |  March 29, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Beautiful photos especially the poppies!

    Thank you.

    Reply
  • 2. Ben  |  April 3, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Your photos of flowers are great! I’m downright amazed by the shot of the bee in midflight. I’m definitely glad you faced your fears for that one.

    You should really make that trip to hawaii happen, and drop me a line when you go. I’d love to recommend my favorite spots and activities.

    Thanks, Ben. I am glad actually I know someone now to ask for his favorite spots in hawaii Volacanoes National Park. I am sure that will help a lot. Thanks so much for the offer of help.

    Reply
  • 3. totomai  |  April 6, 2008 at 5:22 am

    i bet your body is kissing the sands/rocks/stones while taking these photos. hehe. ms beth, you can be a great guide.

    bees are somewhat tame… lol. dont worry just give them privacy if they want too 🙂

    Actually, the flowers here are easy to photograph JOohn, since they are on the hills. But I know what you meant, as it is too difficult for me to take pictures of sand verbena which lie flat on the ground. I think my most difficult where I had sand scratches was at Anza Borrego, I enjoyed it though.

    Reply
  • 4. Dictation  |  June 19, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Dictation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

